January 10, 2024:  Our TCAN collaboration has published a new paper on the streaming instability's and pebble accretion's combined role in explaining the density dichotomy of Kuiper Belt Objects. Click here

December 15, 2023:  Jay has submitted a paper on the influence of turbulence on the streaming instability to the Astrophysical Journal.  This is an excellent project with many insights.  Congrats Jay!

October 9, 2023:  Flaherty et al. (2020) (includes Simon as co-author) has been awarded an IOP Publishing Top Cited Paper Award, which recognizes it as one of the most cited papers from North America published across the entire IOP Publishing journal portfolio within the past three years (2020 to 2022). It also features in the top 1% of most cited articles in the Astronomy and Astrophysics subject category.

September 9, 2023: Research Scientist Daniel Carrera (PI) and Prof. Jake Simon (Co-PI) have won a NASA Exoplanets Research Program grant.

September 1, 2023: Daniel Carrera has been promoted to a research scientist position. Congrats Daniel!

June 21, 2023: Postdoc Daniel Carrera (PI) and Prof. Jake Simon (Co-PI) have won a NASA Emerging Worlds grant! 

April 25, 2023: Undergraduate Olivia Brouillette has been awarded the Bernice Black Durand Undergraduate Research Scholarship at Iowa State.  Congrats Olivia!!

January 12, 2023:  Jake Simon has just been selected as a 2023 Scialog Fellow for the Signatures of Life in the Universe (SLU) program. More information on this program can be found here:

December 12, 2022:  My dust growth and planetesimal formation review (in collaboration with Jürgen Blum, Til Birnstiel, and David Nesvorny) has been accepted as a chapter for publication in Comets III.  Here is the arXiv link:

November 17, 2022:  Undergraduate Olivia Brouillette has been accepted into the University of Iowa's Undergraduate Women in Physics Conference. Congrats Olivia!


October 19, 2022:  Undergraduate Olivia Brouillette has joined our team!


June 2022:  Graduate student Jay Lim has won a NASA FINESST award! Congrats Jay!